Best Practice Awards

An opportunity for your Community Board to showcase a project or initiative and a chance to win the Supreme Best Practice Award.

Entries have been received from: 

Cambridge Community Board
Hanmer Springs Community Board
Inglewood Community Board
Te Awamutu Community Board
Wanganui Rural Community Board
Raglan Community Board
Petone Community Board
Waipuna/Halswell-Hornby-Riccarton Community Board
Martinborough Community Board

What are the Awards?

the Community Boards Executive Committee Best Practice Awards recognise excellence in the implementation of projects and initiatives in local governance
these awards are offered by the New Zealand Community Board Executive Committee (CBEC)
prizes will be presented to the winners along with a runner up of each category (see below)
a supreme winner will be chosen by CBEC from the winners of the individual categories

The objectives of the Awards are

recognition of significant contributions made by Community Boards to the process of achieving excellence in local governance
development of the Award's scheme as a learning tool for quality improvements in the functioning of Community Boards
fostering the exchange of the best practice and innovative ideas.


The Community Board Executive Committee has agreed that a new award for individual community board members will be bestowed at the 2019 conference in New Plymouth. The award will be given to individual community board members who have been judged to have made an outstanding contribution to their community board and their communities. The award replaces the long service award that was given out at previous conferences.

Nominations must be made by a community board member and seconded by a member of the same community board as that to which individual being nominated belongs. Supporting information must be less than 50 words. Click here to down load the nomination form.  Forms need to be sent to by 15 February 2019.


Best Practice Awards


The Community Boards Executive Committee (CBEC) Best Practice Awards are designed to reflect the diversity of the work community boards undertake for their communities. The categories for the 2019 Best Practice Awards are set out below.


The judges are looking for a community board which has, exercising its leadership mandate, made an improvement to its community. This could involve: • a successful advocacy campaign resulting in beneficial change;
• partnering with one or more agency to improve local services; or
• utilising an innovative communication approach.


The judges are looking for a project, programme or initiative which has been funded, commissioned and/or led by a community board which has enhanced the quality of life and/or environment of their community. Projects which have, for example:
• contributed to harmonious relationships and stronger community networks;
• developed local or neighbourhood amenities; or
• strengthened an understanding of the history heritage and story of that community.


The judges are looking for a project or initiative in which a community board has taken an innovative approach to consultation and engagement. This can involve:
• initiatives taken to promote community feedback on a consultation exercise, such as an annual plan, long term plan or a specific community board initiative;
• methods taken for engaging with local organisations, such as Maori organisations, business associations and community organisations; or
• initiatives in which a board has successfully increased the participation of groups within their communities that have traditionally been under-represented in local affairs, such as young people and new residents.

Overall winners

In addition to being recognised as a category winner there are two other prizes; the Peoples' Choice and the Supreme Winners.

The People's Choice award is determined by conference participants who will have the opportunity to vote for the project of their choice at the conference. All finalists will be eligible for the Peoples' Choice award and the results will be announced at the conference dinner.


The Supreme Winner will be selected by the judging panel from amongst the category award winners. It will reflect the project that the judges have determined as the most innovative and having resulted in the greatest community value.  We thank EquiP for sponsoring this Award.

The community board that wins the Supreme award will be offered the opportunity to have their winning entry made into a webinar by the EquiP team. The objective of the webinar is to celebrate best practice and provide a learning resource to community boards throughout New Zealand. 


How to enter

• You can submit as many entries as you wish, however, each entry should relate to a single category only and specifically address the purpose of that category. The judges may transfer entries into a different category if they feel this is appropriate.
• Applications must be on the 2019 CBEC Best Practice Awards application form. Additional information, such as photos or a PowerPoint presentation, can be attached.
• Each application should include all the relevant information relating to your application.

What information to provide

In addition to the information required in the 2019 CBEC Best Practice Awards application form, you can also include:
• information on the length of time over which the initiative occurred;
• a list of the different organisations involved in the initiative (for example, government agencies, community organisations, businesses, individuals) and how their participation was achieved;
• a brief estimation of the initiative's cost, how it was financed, such as rates or grants, and how costs were managed;
• a brief explanation of the benefits resulting from the project; and
• information on lessons learned, including barriers encountered, what would be done differently next time, and how the initiative might be useful to other community boards.

Send your entry to

Local Government New Zealand:

Closing date for entries

Friday 8 March 2019 at 5.00pm. No late entries will be accepted.

Judging process

All applications will be reviewed by the Conference Judging Panel.

Announcement of the winners

The Awards will be announced and presented at the Conference Dinner on Friday 12 April 2019 and in order to promote best practice in the functioning of community boards and to foster the exchange of best practice and innovation, winning entries will be featured on the LGNZ website.

Please Note: By entering the awards you are agreeing to the publication of your entry.


  • 363


  • 10


  • 06


  • 11